Watch The xx’s video for new single ‘On Hold’

Track lifted from band's third album 'I See You'

The xx have shared a video for their latest single ‘On Hold’.

‘On Hold’ was released earlier this month (November 10). Upon its release, we wrote that the track is “the sound of them [The xx] at best; deliciously gloomy as ever, but with added, deceptive sprinkles of positivity.”

‘On Hold’ samples Hall and Oates’ 1981 track ‘I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do)’. After it was released, Daryl Hall told the band to “pay me” for the sample.


Watch the band’s video for ‘On Hold’ below.

The track will feature on the band’s upcoming third album ‘I See You’. The LP was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London and produced by the band’s Jamie Smith, plus Rodaidh McDonald. It has been described as “more outward-looking, open and expansive”.

See the full album tracklisting below:

1. ‘Dangerous’
2. ‘Say Something Loving’
3. ‘Lips’
4. ‘A Violent Noise’
5. ‘Performance’
6. ‘Replica’
7. ‘Brave For You’
8. ‘On Hold’
9. ‘I Dare You’
10. ‘Test Me’

Read more: The xx’s New Album: Release Date, Tour Dates, New Tracks And Everything You Need To Know


The xx are set to head on tour next year. See their 2017 UK dates in full below.

Nottingham Motorpoint Arena (March 4, 2017)
Manchester O2 Apollo (March 5-6)
London O2 Academy Brixton (March 8-11, 13-15)
Cardiff Motorpoint Arena (March 17)


Eminem criticised for making light of Manchester Arena attack on new album

Eminem has faced backlash after making light of the Manchester Arena bombing on his new album. The rap icon surprised fans this morning (January 17)...

The 1975 return to their roots on the devastatingly sincere ‘Me and You Together Song’ 

The band's latest is a return to their shimmering early material