This week’s releases: 26 January 2009

Albums and singles released in UK today

It’s heavyweight week in the album stakes this week, with Bruce Springsteen‘s ‘Working On A Dream’ going up against Franz Ferdinand‘s ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’.

This week’s NME cover star Lily Allen, meanwhile, returns to releasing music and unleashes her new single ‘The Fear’, the first taster from her forthcoming new album ‘It’s Not Me, It’s You’.

Singles released in the UK this week:

The Airborne Toxic Event – ‘Sometime Around Midnight’

Lily Allen – ‘The Fear’

Bloc Party – ‘One Month Off’

Fleet Foxes – ‘Mykonos’

Little Joy – ‘For No One’s Better Sake’

The Presidents Of The United States Of America – ‘Ladybug EP’

Ida Maria – ‘Oh My God’

Albums released today:

Franz Ferdinand – ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’

Omar Rodriguez-Lopez – ‘Old Money’

Bruce Springsteen – ‘Working On A Dream’

Secret Machines – ‘Secret Machines’

Darren Hayman – ‘Pram Town’

Mr Oizo – ‘Lambs Anger’

The Rifles – ‘Great Escape’

Fight Like Apes – ‘Fight Like Apes & The Mystery Of The Golden Medallion’

John Frusciante – ‘Empyrean’