This Week’s New Music Releases: 24 August 2009

Albums and singles released in the UK today

Arctic Monkeys mark their return today (August 24), releasing their third album ‘Humbug’.

Alex Turner and co are up against other new albums from the likes of Fiery Furnaces (‘I’m Going Away’) and Athlete (‘Black Swan’).

In the singles charts, meanwhile, Lily Allen releases ’22’, while Black Lips return with ‘Drugs’ (the B-side of which features The HorrorsFaris Badwan). They both face competition from Biffy Clyro‘s ‘That Golden Rule’ and Flo Rida featuring Nelly Furtado‘s ‘Jump’.

Singles released today:

Flo Rida: Nelly Furtado – ‘Jump’
Lily Allen – ’22’
Duckworth Lewis Method – ‘Meeting Mr Miandad’
Biffy Clyro – ‘That Golden Rule’
Jet – ‘She’s A Genius’
Black Lips – ‘Drugs’
Team Waterpolo – ‘Letting Go’
Husky Rescue – ‘We Shall Burn Bright/First Call’
King Creosote – ‘No One Had It Better’

Albums released today:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Humbug’
Athlete – ‘Black Swan’
Fiery Furnaces – ‘I’m Going Away’
Imogen Heap – ‘Ellipse’
Mew – ‘No More Stories Are Told Today’
Pete Molinari – ‘Today, Tomorrow & Forever EP’