This Week’s New Music Releases: 3 August 2009

Albums and singles released in the UK today

Pete Doherty releases his new single, ‘Broken Love Song’ today (August 3). He’s up against Eminem (‘Beautiful’), Emmy The Great (‘Edward EP’) and Simian Mobile Disco (‘Audacity Of Huge’).

In the album charts, meanwhile, Wild Beasts and The Twang release their new efforts, as does Interpol frontman Paul Banks (who releases his debut solo album under the name Julian Plenti).

Singles released today:

Eminem – ‘Beautiful’
Emmy The Great – ‘Edward EP’
Metric – ‘Gimme Sympathy’
Pete Doherty – ‘Broken Love Song’
Simian Mobile Disco – ‘Audacity Of Huge’
The Lightning Seeds – ‘Don’t Walk On By’
The Tempter Trap – ‘Sweet Disposition’

Albums released today:

Frankmusik – ‘Complete Me’
Julian Plenti – ‘Julian Plenti Is Skyscraper’
Lovvers – Ocd Go Go Girls
Mstrkrft – ‘Fist Of God’
REM – ‘Reckoning: Deluxe Edition’
The Twang – ‘Jewellery Quarter’
Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’