This Week’s Releases: 21 February 2011

Albums and singles released in the UK today

Yuck and Frankie And The Heartstrings both release their debut albums today (February 21).

Gil Scott-Heron and Jamie Smith of The xx‘s new album, ‘We’re New Here’, is also out. The record is Smith‘s reworking of Scott-Heron‘s 2010 album ‘I’m New Here’.

Magnetic Man release their ‘Getting Nowhere’ single – a collaboration with John Legend. There are also new singles from Brandon Flowers, Miles Kane and Kanye West.


This week’s new singles reviewed by Gavin Haynes

Singles released today:

Alpines – ‘Ice And Arrows’
Austra – ‘Beat And The Pulse’
Cavalera Conspiracy – ‘Killing Inside’
Cults – ‘Go Outside’
The Feeling – ‘Set My World On Fire’
Brandon Flowers – ‘Jilted Lovers And Broken Hearts’
Ben Folds & Nick Hornby – ‘Your Dogs + Claire’s Ninth’
Alexis Jordan – ‘Good Girl’
Lupe Fiasco – ‘The Show Goes On’
Magnetic Man feat. John Legend – ‘Getting Nowhere’
Clare Maguire – ‘The Last Dance’
Manic Street Preachers – ‘Postcards From A Young Man’
Miles Kane – ‘Come Closer’
Nicki Minaj feat. Drake – ‘Moment 4 Life’
Josh T.Pearson – ‘Country Dumb’
Pink – ‘Fuckin’ Perfect’
Caitlin Rose – ‘Own Side’
The Script – ‘If You Ever Come Back’
Britney Spears – ‘Hold It Against Me’
Take That – ‘Kidz’
Kanye West – ‘All Of The Lights’

Albums released today:

Amplifier – ‘The Octopus’
Banjo Or Freakout – ‘Banjo Or Freakout’
Sara Bareilles – ‘Kaleidoscope Heart’
Julianna Barwick – ‘The Magic Place’
Deicide – ‘To Hell With God’
D.R.U.G.S – ‘D.R.U.G.S’
DevilDriver – ‘Beast’
Far East Movement – ‘Free Wired’
Frankie & The Heartstrings – ‘Hunger’
Gill Scott-Heron And Jamie XX – ‘We’re New Here’
Glee Cast – ‘Glee – The Music – Volume 4’
Jay Sean – ‘Freeze Time’
Les Corpes Mince De Francoise – ‘Love & Nature’
The Low Anthem – ‘Smart Flesh’
June Tabor – ‘Ashore’
Ten – ‘Stormwarming’
The Secret Sisters – ‘The Secret Sisters’
Thirteen Senses – ‘Crystal Sounds’
Toro Y Moi – ‘Underneath The Pine’
Treefight For Sunlight – ‘A Collection Of Vibrations For Your Skull’
Yuck – ‘Yuck’