This Week’s New Music Releases: December 14, 2009

Albums and singles released in the UK today

The race for Christmas Number One starts this week, and today (December 14) sees the release of Christmas singles by George Michael, Laura Marling, Pet Shop Boys, Slow Club and ‘The X Factor’ winner.

Rage Against The Machine fans have also pledged to buy ‘Killing In The Name’ in a bid to reach the top spot of the singles chart, while Mini Viva and Julian Lennon have new releases out today.

In the albums stakes Paul McCartney unleashes his live album ‘Good Evening New York City’, while Eminem‘s expanded ‘Relapse: Refil’ is also released. Badly Drawn Boy also releases his new album ‘Is There Nothing We Could Do’ today.

Singles released today:

George Michael – ‘December Song (I Dreamed Of Christmas)’
Julian Lennon and James Scott Cook – ‘Lucy EP’
Laura Marling – ‘Goodbye England (Covered In Snow)’
Mini Viva – ‘I Wish’
Patrick Wolf – ‘Damaris’
Pet Shop Boys – ‘Christmas’
Slow Club – ‘Christmas Thanks For Nothing’ EP
Joe McElderry – ‘The Climb’

Albums released today:

Alicia Keys – ‘Element Of Freedom’
Animal Collective – ‘Fall Be Kind’
Badly Drawn Boy – ‘Is There Nothing We Could Do’
Eminem – ‘Relapse: Refill’
Paul McCartney – ‘Good Evening New York City’
The Clash – ‘London Calling: 30th Anniversary Edition’