Thom Yorke shares eclectic new mix he recorded for BBC Radio 3

Featuring music by the likes of Aphex Twin, Faust and, yes, Radiohead

Thom Yorke has shared a brand new mix of music he recorded for BBC Radio 3 – listen to it below.

The Radiohead frontman created the playlist for the station’s Late Junction programme, which aired at 11pm last night (November 8).

The BBC’s accompanying bio for the programme described the mix as “reflecting his immersion in electronic music across the generations, from Pierre Henry through Aphex Twin to Mars89, as well as his love of experimental vocal techniques, mixing in a classic work by Stockhausen, and krautrockers Faust.”


Thom Yorke

You can listen to the mix – which kicks off with Radiohead’s ‘Burn The Witch’ and also features ‘Suspirium’ from his score for the movie Suspiria – over on the BBC Sounds site here, and you can see the full tracklist for the mixtape below.

1. Radiohead – ‘Burn The Witch’
2. Justin Taylor & György Ligeti – ‘Continuum’
3. Victor Misomba & Patrice Ilunga – ‘Mamwana Kufika Munda (My Love Is Upset)’
4. Jamie Muir & Derek Bailey – ‘Carminative’
5. Thom Yorke – ‘Suspirium’
6. Ben Vida – ‘Damaged Particulates’
7. Faust – ‘Exercise – With Voices’
8. Karlheinz Stockhausen – ‘Gesang Der Jünglinge’
9. Carl Stone – ‘Shing Kee’
10. Mars89 – ‘End of the Death’
11. Bernard Parmegiani – ‘Conjugaison Du Timbre’
12. Aphex Twin – ‘Disk Aud1_12’
13. The Beacon Sound Choir – ‘Drone 3’
14. Pierre Henry – ‘Astrology’
15. Alvin Lucier – ‘Criss-Cross / Hanover’
16. Faust – ‘Untitled’

This is the second mix of Yorke’s to emerge in recent weeks – in late October, he released an hour-long mix which comprised of his favorite atmospheric records and included the likes of James Blake, Low and Szun Waves.

You May Like