Tom Jones and Warpaint drummer cover Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits and The Low Anthem on his new LP

'Spirit In The Room' will also feature versions of songs by Paul McCartney, Paul Simon and Odetta

Tom Jones is set to cover songs by artists such as Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits and The Low Anthem on his brand new album, ‘Spirit In The Room’.

Released on May 21, the follow up to 2010’s ‘Praise and Blame’ has been recorded with a band which includes Warpaint‘s Stella Mozgawa on drums – pictured below – and Laura Marling producer and multi-instrumentalist Ethan Johns.

The 10 track album sees Jones singing his own versions of Leonard Cohen’s ‘Tower of Song’, the title track from Tom Waits’ most recent album ‘Bad As Me’ and The Low Anthem’s ‘Charlie Darwin’ from their 2008 album ‘Oh My God, Charlie Darwin’.


‘Spirit In The Room’ also includes songs originally written by Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Blind Willie Johnson, Odetta and Richard Thompson. A deluxe edition of the LP will include three extra songs, ‘Just Dropped in’, ‘Lone Pilgrim’ and ‘When The Deal Goes Down’.

The ‘Spirit In The Room’ tracklisting is:

‘Tower Of Song’ (L. Cohen)
‘(I Want To) Come Home’ (P. McCartney)
‘Hit Or Miss’ (Odetta)
‘Love And Blessings’ (P. Simon)
‘Soul Of A Man’ (Blind Willie Johnson)
‘Bad As Me’ (T. Waits)
‘Dimming Of The Day’ (R. Thompson)
‘Travelling Shoes’ (V. Hall Ward)
‘All Blues Hail Mary’ (J. Henry)
‘Charlie Darwin’ (The Low Anthem)

Tom Jones recently covered Howlin Wolf‘s ‘Evil’. The track was released earlier this month on Jack White‘s Third Man Records label as part of their ‘Blue Series’, along with a new version of Jones’ 2002 track ‘Jezebel’.