Tom Jones to receive Hitmaker award at Songwriters Hall Of Fame

2009 inductees include Jon Bon Jovi and Crosby, Stills & Nash

Tom Jones will be this year’s recipient of the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award at the 2009 Songwriters Hall of Fame 40th Anniversary Awards, it has been announced.

The Welsh singer will receive the award on June 18 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel, and was chosen as the recipient due to his “exceptional staying power and accomplishments, along with his unique artistry.”

Previous Hitmaker Award recipients include Clive Davis, Garth Brooks, Chuck Berry, Whitney Houston, Michael Bolton, Gloria Estefan and Diana Ross.


Inductees at this year’s Songwriter Hall Of Fame Awards include Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora; Felix Cavaliere and Eddie Brigati of The Young Rascals; Roger Cook and Roger Greenaway; Crosby, Stills & Nash; Galt MacDermot, James Rado and Gerome Ragni; and Stephen Schwartz.

The Towering Song this year is ’Moon River’ and the Towering Performance Award will be presented to Andy Williams.

–By our New York staff.
[url=”/about”]Find out more about NME.[/url]