Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers unveil new song ‘American Dream Plan B’

The track comes from their upcoming new album 'Hypnotic Eye'

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers have unveiled a new song, entitled ‘American Dream Plan B’.

The track features on the band’s forthcoming new album ‘Hypnotic Eye’ which will be released on July 29. Listen to the song via Ultimate Classic Rock by clicking here.

The band’s 13th studio album, ‘Hypnotic Eye’ was co-produced by Petty, Mike Campbell, and Ryan Ulyate. Speaking to Rolling Stone about the album, Petty responded to comments that the release sounds like his earlier albums ‘Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers’ from 1976 and ‘You’re Gonna Get It’ from 1978.


“That’s what Mike said: ‘You sing like you did on the first two albums,” said Petty. “Maybe this album does sound like that. But it’s that band 30 years later… I knew I wanted to a do a rock and roll record. We hadn’t made a straight hard-rockin’ record, from beginning to end, in a long time.”

As well as ‘American Dream Plan B’, the album will feature the songs ‘Faultlines’, ‘Red River’, ‘Burn Out Town’ and ‘Shadow People’. The release will be supported by a two month long North American tour which starts on August 3. Petty commented that the band are far from finished. “This band just grows and grows, and that’s an incredible gift, I can’t see us calling it off,” he said.