Tom Petty’s unreleased music will be put out on a new box set

'American Treasure' will feature 4 CDs of music

A box set of Tom Petty‘s unreleased music has been announced. Titled ‘American Treasure’ it will feature 4 CDs containing 60 tracks.

The rock legend sadly passed away from an accidental drug overdose on October 2, 2017 at the age of just 66.

The boxset will feature both live and studio material from Petty’s career, curated by Petty’s wife Dana York, daughter Adria, Heartbreakers bandmate Mike Campbell, and studio collaborator Ryan Ulate.


It will also feature covers of Petty’s songs by other artists. A 1982, unreleased song ‘Keep a Little Soul’ was played on SiriusXM last night (July 10) as a sneak preview of the box set.

The box set is set to be released on September 28 while a countdown clock on Petty’s website is rumoured to reveal more about the release once it runs out.

Earlier this year, The Heartbreakers joined Beck and Patti Smith in their first performance since Tom Petty’s death.

Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, and Steve Ferron, performed together for the Light Up The Blues benefit concert for Autism Speaks at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles.

Their set list included Petty’s ‘I Won’t Back Down’, before they later joined forces Smith for her own anthem ‘Because The Night’.


A previously announced duet with Beck then followed, with the group performing Petty’s ‘Guess I’m Doing Fine’ and ‘Where It’s At’.

The Killers also paid tribute to Petty at the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony back in April.

The Las Vegas band covered Petty’s ‘American Girl’ during the ceremony, which saw frontman Brandon Flowers incorporate another of the artist’s songs, ‘Free Fallin” into the end of the performance.


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts