Tom Waits’ first seven albums will be remastered and reissued

Many of the albums have long been out of print

Tom Waits‘ first seven albums are set to be remastered and reissued later this year.

The albums – released through Elektra Asylum Records in the 1970’s – include 1973’s Closing Time; 1974’s Heart of Saturday Night; 1975’s Nighthawks at the Diner; 1976’s Small Change; 1977’s Foreign Affairs; 1978’s Blue Valentine; and 1980’s Heartattack & Vine.

The reissues follow Waits’ recently remastered and reissued albums with ANTI- Records, from 1999’s Mule Variations through to 2011’s Bad As Me.


The first reissused album to be released will be Waits’ debut Closing Time. The vinyl comes out on March 9th, with the CD release following on March 23rd. Release dates for the other vinyl and CD reissues are yet to be announced.

Last month, Tom Waits’ saxophonist Ralph Carney passed away aged 61.

Carney passed away peacefully surrounded by his family in Portland. The saxophonist got his start in the mid ’70s and went on to collaborate with the like of Tom Waits, the B-52s, St. Vincent, The Black Keys and perform the iconic horn line from the ‘Bojack Horseman‘ intro which he co-wrote with his nephew, The Black Keys‘ Patrick Carney.

Patrick Carney wrote in a statement: “Our family and friends are all devastated. He was an immensely talented musician, deeply thoughtful and funny. He will be missed by many. He inspired me.”

“Without him I never would have listened to the music I do or even considered playing it. We are all heartbroken. I’ll miss you Ralph.”


Cast your vote for the NME Awards 2020 now

Vote for your top choices of Hero, Villain and Music Moment of the Year