Travis record 20 songs for new album

They're working with Nigel Godrich again

Travis have recorded 20 songs for their new album.

Producer Nigel Godrich is again working with the band, bass player Dougie Payne told fans on the band’s official website

Godrich produced 2001’s ‘The Invisible Band’ and the band’s last effort, 2003’s ’12 Memories’.


Payne said: “We’re working in a place called The Hospital. The studio is in a building that houses a members club, two restaurants a TV studio and most dangerously of all a martini bar.

“Thankfully the studio part is on the top floor, nicely separated from all the temptations. We’ve got about 20 songs recorded. This includes stuff we did in Westside earlier in the year and one tune goes back to the sessions we did with (Brian) Eno last December.

“We’ve got two weeks in here this time around and reckon most of the time will be spent finishing off those things that need more work but we decided to start off the session with trying a new song.

“This is one written by our friend Suzie Hugg. We’ve recorded a couple of her songs before (‘Reason’ and ‘Unbelievers’ were both B-sides a few of years ago). She is a great writer.”

The LP is due for release in 2006.