Tune-Yards reveal new song ‘Water Fountain’ – listen

'Nikki Nack' album artwork and tracklist revealed ahead of May 5 release

Tune-Yards have revealed new song ‘Water Fountain’, the first song from new album ‘Nikki Nack.’ Scroll down to hear the song now.

Merrill Garbus’ musical project will release ‘Nikki Nack’, on May 5. It is the follow-up to 2011’s ‘w h o k i l l’. The album artwork can be seen above, while the full album tracklisting is below.

Speaking last year, Garbus said that she had taken a research trip to Haiti in order to situate herself “in a non-western musical tradition” after studying drumming with Haitian-born Daniel Brevil in Oakland, California.

Along with a group of seven other students, she then took a four day course in “intensive folkloric and contemporary dance” at the Ecole Nationale des Arts (ENArts) in Port-au-Prince. “On these incredible days we were taught to dance by, I am convinced, some of the best folkloric and contemporary dancers in all of Haiti,” she wrote. “I am not a dancer so much, but these days I will dance harder than I ever have in my whole life. I will also cry some more. Several times, quietly.”

Producers on ‘Nikki Nack’ include John Hill (Rihanna, Shakira, MIA) and Malay (Frank Ocean, Alicia Keys, Big Boi).

The tracklisting for ‘Nikki Nack’ is as follows:

‘Find a New Way’
‘Water Fountain’
‘Time of Dark’
‘Real Thing’
‘Look Around’
‘Hey Life’
‘Why Do We Dine on the Tots?’
‘Stop That Man’
‘Wait for a Minute’
‘Left Behind’
‘Rocking Chair’