TV On The Radio side project details unveiled

Kyp Malone tells NME that 'Rain Machine' fuses Beyonce with biblical analysis and classic rock sounds

TV On The Radio singer-guitarist Kyp Malone has revealed the tracklisting of his upcoming solo album, set to be released on September 21.

The record, entitled ‘Rain Machine’ features a cover sleeve designed by Malone. As previously reported on NME.COM, the album will come out via Anti-records. Malone worked with producer Ian Brennan on the record, whose previous credits include Lucinda Williams and Jonathan Richman.

Speaking in this week’s issue of NME (out in the UK on July 15), Malone described album track ‘Give Blood’, which he revealed fuses Beyonce-style pop with in-depth biblical analysis and MOR ’70s rock.

“I was hearing all this classic rock and blues-based rock from the ’60s and early ’70s that was playing in a café, and I was breaking it down in my head as to what worked about it for me and what was corny,” Malone said of the track.

“But I was listening to Beyonce‘s [2008 single] ‘Single Ladies’ a lot at on that same day. I think they kind of melded in my mind musically – I was trying to combine those two things in that song.

“Also, I was reading this book called ‘Abraham’s Curse’, about the roots of violence in Judaism, Christianity and Islam, and thinking about that too. It all finds its way into that one song…though we’ll see if any of that’s translatable at all!”

Read the full interview with Malone – including details about TV On The Radio‘s plans to take a lengthy break after finishing their current tour – in the new issue of NME, available in all good newsagents on July 15.

Meanwhile, TV On The Radio will perform as part of the Celebrate Brooklyn series at New York‘s Prospect Park on August 11 with support from Gang Gang Dance.

‘Rain Machine’ tracklisting is:

‘Give Blood’
‘New Last Name’
‘Smiling Black Faces’
‘Driftwood Heart’
‘Hold you Holy’
‘Desperate Bitch’
‘Love Won’t Save You’
‘Free Ride’
‘Leave the Lights On’
‘Winter Song’