U2 and Jay-Z play show at Berlin’s Brandenburg Gate

Acts team up to mark 20th anniversary of German reunification

U2 and Jay-Z have played a show at the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin this evening (November 5).

Taking to the stage on the eastern side of the old divide, the band played a short set to mark the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, the flashpoint that kick-started Germany’s reunification.

Kicking off with ‘One’, Bono thanked the crowd “for coming out in the cold” before wishing Berlin a happy birthday.

U2 then presented their surprise guest, with the singer introducing Jay-Z as the “Mayor of New York City” ahead of ‘Sunday, Bloody Sunday’, which he rapped over.

They then played a cover of Bob Marley‘s ‘Get Up, Stand Up with the rapper, Bono and U2 guitarist The Edge swapping verses.

With the set taking place ahead of the MTV European Music Awards in the city tonight, Bono told the crowd: “I just want to think about this moment – feel this moment that was here in this beautiful city of Berlin” before launching into ‘Beautiful Day’.

The band then played ‘Vertigo’ before wrapping things up with ‘Moment Of Surrender’.

U2 played:

‘Sunday, Bloody Sunday’
‘Beautiful Day’ with Jay-Z
‘Moment Of Surrender’

The MTV Europe Music Awards in pictures.