Band members go seperate ways after musical and personal differences tear them apart...

Ultrasound have split up, following months of rumours about tension between band members.

The band released a statement reading: “The five-piece featuring Andrew ‘Tiny’ Wood, Richard Green, Vanessa Best, Matt Jones and Andy Peace have decided that they can no longer work together under the Ultrasound banner after a series of musical and personal differences.”

Ultrasound had been together for four years in their latest incarnation and released debut LP, ‘Everything Picture’, earlier this year on Nude. The band came to prominence after appearing at the ’97 NME Unsigned Shows and went on to receive critical acclaim for singles such as debut Fierce Panda release ‘Same Band’. However, their eagerly-awaited LP met with much indifference due to its length and the rambling prog-rock nature of many of the tracks.


Before the start of this year’s festival season, the band cancelled all live dates saying they wanted to get back in the studio although rumours persisted that they were about to split. Then they cancelled their planned festival appearance at T In The Park. They vehemently denied that they had split and put the cancellations down to the band wanting to concentrate on writing material for their next album.

According to the statement, all members will continue making music alone. It reads: “It is not inconceivable that a number of them may work together on new musical projects in the future. It’s also likely that a new Ultrasound will rise from the ashes.”

NME understands that Best has already recorded a number of demos and left the band because she was not allowed enough artistic input.

Tiny is also writing new material and is understood to have collaborated with Green on some tracks. The pair worked together for many years before Ultrasound were born. It is not yet known whether they are trying to keep the name Ultrasound and it is still not clear what Jones and Peace plan to do.