Uncut launches new music award

NME's sister title is judging the best music from the past year

NME‘s sister title Uncut has announced details of a new award that aims to find the most inspiring and richly rewarding album of the last 12 months.

The winning album will be chosen from a ten-strong panel of judges that includes New Order‘s Peter Hook, former Orange Juice man Edwyn Collins and broadcaster Mark Radcliffe.

A longlist of 25 albums released between September 1, 2007 and August 31, 2008 will initially battle it out for the prize.

From these, the panel will choose a shortlist of eight albums – one of which will win the inaugural Uncut Music Award. The prize will be presented in early November.

The full list of nominated albums is:

Kevin Ayers – ‘The Unfairground’

James Blackshaw – ‘Litany Of Echoes’

Bon Iver – ‘For Emma, Forever Ago’

Isobel Campbell And Mark Lanegan – ‘Sunday At Devil Dirt’

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds – ‘Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!’

Drive-By Truckers – ‘Brighter Than Creation’s Dark’

Elbow – ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’

The Felice Brothers – ‘The Felice Brothers’

Fleet Foxes – ‘Fleet Foxes’

PJ Harvey – ‘White Chalk’

The Hold Steady – ‘Stay Positive’

Howlin’ Rain – ‘Magnificent Fiend’

Joan As Police Woman – ‘To Survive’

Stephen Malkmus And The Jicks – ‘Real Emotional Trash’

Robert Plant And Alison Krauss – ‘Raising Sand’

Portishead – ‘Third’

The Raconteurs – ‘Consolers Of The Lonely’

Go to Uncut.co.uk for more information.