Underworld unveil comeback single ‘I Exhale’ – listen

Electronic duo will release their new album 'Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future' in March

Underworld have posted their comeback single from their forthcoming new album online.

The track – ‘I Exhale’ – is the band’s first since 2012’s ‘Caliban’s Dream’, taken from the ‘Isles Of Wonder’ soundtrack for that year’s Summer Olympics in London. It will feature on their new LP ‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’, which is due out on March 18. You can listen to the track below.

Earlier, this year the UK electronic duo revealed an album ‘trailer’ titled ‘Shining Future part 1’. The pair explained that the stream was meant to “give you a taste of a few tracks on the album.”

An accompanying press release described the sounds on the new album as, “the elegiac swoop of strings as they stretching out across off-world electronics; a demented lupine howl that curls itself into an unshakeable earworm; celestial techno and South American acoustics; voices that warp into harmonic riffs; found lyrics that form fine-tuned monolgues.”

See the tracklist for ‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’ below:

‘I Exhale’
‘If Rah’
‘Low Burn’
‘Santiago Cuatro’
‘Ova Nova’
‘Nylon Strung’

Underworld have also announced two live dates in support of the album, playing two consecutive nights at London’s Roundhouse on March 24 and March 25, 2016.

Musicians Karl Hyde and Rick Smith formed Underworld in Cardiff in 1980. The pair rose to fame in 1996 when their track ‘Born Slippy .NUXX’ featured on the soundtrack to the film Trainspotting.

Karl Hyde also released two albums with Brian Eno during 2014, ‘Someday World’ in May followed by ‘High Life’ in June.