Underworld preview tracks from new album ‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’ – listen

The electronic duo play two nights at London's Roundhouse on March 24-25, 2016

Underworld have announced their ninth album ‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’

The UK electronic duo revealed the news alongside an album ‘trailer’ titled ‘Shining Future part 1’. The pair explained that the stream was meant to “give you a taste of a few tracks on the album.”

‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’ will be released on March 18.


Listen to ‘Shining Future Part 1’ below:

An accompanying press release described the sounds on the new album as, “the elegiac swoop of strings as they stretching out across off-world electronics; a demented lupine howl that curls itself into an unshakeable earworm; celestial techno and South American acoustics; voices that warp into harmonic riffs; found lyrics that form fine-tuned monolgues.”

See the tracklist for below:

‘I Exhale’
‘If Rah’
‘Low Burn’
‘Santiago Cuatro’
‘Ova Nova’
‘Nylon Strung’

Underworld have also announced two live dates in support of the album, playing two consecutive nights at London’s Roundhouse on March 24 and March 25, 2016.


Musicians Karl Hyde and Rick Smith formed Underworld in Cardiff in 1980. The pair rose to fame in 1996 when their track ‘Born Slippy .NUXX’ featured on the soundtrack to the film Trainspotting.