Unknown Mortal Orchestra shares 22-minute long track ‘SB-01’ – listen

The track is Ruben Nielson's first output since October's 'Blue Record' EP

Unknown Mortal Orchestra, aka New Zealand-born Ruban Nielson, has shared a new 22-minute long track entitled ‘SB-01’. Scroll down to listen.

The track, which was made available as a Christmas gift on the musician’s official bandcamp site is available for $1 (or 61p) and is the first output since October’s ‘Blue Record’ EP – a five-track release featuring three acoustic versions of tracks from second album ‘II’, including ‘Swim and Sleep (Like A Shark)’, ‘Faded In The Morning’ and ‘So Good At Being In Trouble’.

‘SB-01’ takes the form of an instrumental track which moves through various sections, in a similar form to a mixtape. Unlike any of Nielson’s previous output, the track has been given little explanation aside from a message on the website that simple reads, “MERRY XMAS”.

As well as the three acoustic covers, ‘Blue Record’ also featured covers of Beck and Dirty Projectors. The former’s track ‘Puttin It Down’ is featured, alongside the latter’s ‘Swing Lo Magellan’. The EP was released as part of an expanded version of ‘II’.

Speaking about the release, Nielson stated: “”After recording three songs from ‘II’ I started thinking about doing some other songs that I like. I thought that I’d do an old song I’d always liked even when I was a kid and a new song that I’ve been listening to a lot recently. The old song is ‘Puttin It Down’ by Beck. It’s on the album ‘Stereopathic Soulmanure’ and I always loved the lyrics. So funny and so sad. To me this song is super real. The new song is ‘Swing Lo Magellan’ from the album of the same name by Dirty Projectors. I like how this band who kind of specialise in melting brains leaned on pure melody on that album. The more I listened to it the more I realised how strong this melody was. I found myself listening to it a lot. It reminds me of Velvet Underground or ‘Transformer’ era Lou Reed for some reason.”