Vampire Weekend and Daughter triumph at independent AIM Awards ceremony

Franz Ferdinand and Billy Bragg perform at the AIM Awards in London

Vampire Weekend, Daughter and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis were the main winners as independent record labels’ governing body The Association of Independent Music held the third annual AIM Independent Music Awards at London hotel The Brewery tonight (September 3).

London folk-rockers Daughter scooped the Independent Album Of The Year Award for their debut, ‘If You Leave’, while New York’s Vampire Weekend won Independent Track Of The Year for ‘Diane Young’ from their third album ‘Modern Vampires Of The City’.

Franz Ferdinand were surprise guest performers, opening the ceremony by performing ‘Stand On The Horizon’ from their new album ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ as well as ‘Bullet’ and ‘Love Illumination’. The performance took place 10 years to the week since their debut single ‘Darts Of Pleasure’ was released. The only act to win more than one trophy was Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, the self-released duo behind the Number One single ‘Thrift Shop’. They netted Independent Breakthrough Of The Year and the PPL Award For Most-Played Independent New Act. Enter Shikari were named Best Live Act.


Billy Bragg was given the Outstanding Contribution To Music prize, presented by Glastonbury boss Michael Eavis. Celebrating 30 years since his debut album ‘Life’s A Riot With Spy Vs Spy’ was released, Bragg told NME: “I’m pleased I won an Outstanding Contribution prize, rather than something with “lifetime achievement” in the title, because that would imply I’m ready to be pensioned off with a carriage clock. I hope to still be making music for my 40th and 50th anniversary.” Bragg closed the show with a three song set.

The Special Contribution prize was given by Richard Hawley to BBC 6Music presenter Steve Lamacq, 20 years after he began his DJ career with Radio 1. Hawley told NME: “I admire Steve because he’s stuck to his guns – he’s a real gunslinger. I know he was offered, on plenty of occasions, the chance to be a shiny breakfast show presenter. But Steve wanted to stick to presenting music where he had more choice with his playlist. That’s honourable.”

Warp won the Independent Label Of The Year award after releasing albums in the past year by acts such as Brian Eno, Grizzly Bear and Flying Lotus. Best Small Label went to Alcopop!, home to Johnny Foreigner, Stagecoach and Fight Like Apes. The night’s other major prize was the Pioneer Award, given to Geoff Travis, whose label Rough Trade has released classic artists from The Smiths to The Libertines and with a current roster including The Strokes and Palma Violets.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Independent Album Of The Year (in association with Record Store Day): Daughter – ‘If You Leave’
Independent Track Of The Year (in association with Spotify): Vampire Weekend – ‘Diane Young’
Best Live Act (voted for by The Fly readers): Enter Shikari
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7digital): Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Independent Video Of The Year (in association with Vevo): Django Django – ‘WOR’
Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Frankie & The Heartstrings
Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with XFM): The xx – ‘Coexist’
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year (in association with Amazon): Various Artists – ‘Scared To Get Happy: A Story Of Indie Pop 1980-89’
Independent Label Of The Year (in association with Coutts): Warp
Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Alcopop!
Golden Welly Award (in association with UK Music, AIF and This Is Fake DIY): In The Woods
Indie Champion Award (in association with Consolidated Independent): Gilles Peterson
Special Recognition Award: Steve Lamacq
Outstanding Contribution To Music (in association with eMusic): Billy Bragg
Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music): Geoff Travis