Today’s new releases: Alabama Shakes, Tom DeLonge and more

Plus new albums from Speedy Ortiz, Wire, Built to Spill and Passion Pit

Alabama Shakes and Tom DeLonge lead this week’s new releases.

US band Alabama Shakes return with their new album ‘Sound & Color’. The album, co-produced with Blake Mills (Norah Jones, Lana Del Rey, Conor Oberst) comes out three years after their Grammy-nominated debut ‘Boys & Girls’.

The wait is something powerhouse vocalist Brittany Howard does not regret. She said: “We took our time to write this record, and I’m really glad we did. We were able to sit down and think about what’s exciting to us. This record is full of genre-bending songs.”

The full tracklisting for the album is as follows:

‘Sound and Color’
‘Don’t Wanna Fight’
‘Future People’
‘Gimme All Your Love’
‘This Feeling’
‘Guess Who’
‘The Greatest’
‘Miss You’
‘Over My Head’

Meanwhile, former Blink 182 frontman Tom DeLonge releases his solo album, ‘To The Stars… Demos, Odds And Ends’, today.

Earlier this year Blink-182 Travis Barker and Mark Hoppus split from DeLonge after the singer allegedly refused to enter the studio and record a new album with them.

Following a statement from Hoppus and Barker asserting DeLonge had quit the band “indefinitely”, DeLonge denied the story.

DeLonge then revealed plans to release four albums and publish 15 novels this year.

Today also sees the release of new records from Speedy Ortiz, Wire, Built to Spill and Passion Pit while Eminem-affiliated rapper Yelawolf releases his new album ‘Love Story’.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Alabama Shakes – ‘Sound & Color’
Amber Run – ‘5AM’
Built To Spill – ‘Untethered Moon’
Girl Band – ‘The Early Years’ [EP]
Josh Groban – ‘Stages’
Passenger – ‘Whispers II’
Passion Pit – ‘Kindred’
Ryan Adams – ‘Live At Carnegie Hall’
San Fermin – ‘Jackrabbit’
Speedy Ortiz – ‘Foil Deer’
Squarepusher – ‘Damogen Furies’
Stacey Solomon – ‘Shy’
They Might Be Giants – ‘Glean’
Tom DeLonge – ‘To The Stars: Demos, Odds and Ends’
Wale – ‘The Album About Nothing’
Yelawolf – ‘Love Story’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.