SOAK streams debut album ‘Before We Forgot How To Dream’ online

The Derry songwriter releases the record via Rough Trade on June 1

SOAK is streaming her debut album, titled ‘Before We Forgot How to Dream’, a week ahead of its June 1 release.

The Derry songwriter – real name Bridie Monds-Watson – has signed to Rough Trade for the album, which features previous singles ‘Sea Creatures’, ‘Blud’ and ‘Shuvels’.

SEE MORE: SOAK: “Ireland Is So Behind The Times When It Comes To Gay Rights It’s Moving Backwards”

Head to NPR to hear the album stream.

The ‘Before We Forgot How To Dream’ tracklisting:

‘My Brain’
‘B a noBody’
‘Sea Creatures’
‘A Dream To Fly’
’24 Windowed House’
‘Hailstones Don’t Hurt’
‘Reckless Behaviour’
‘If Everyone Is Someone – No One Is Everyone’
‘Oh Brother’

SOAK released a video for ‘Sea Creatures’ in February.

The 18-year-old also covered St Vincent’s 2014 single ‘Digital Witness’ as part of Rookie’s ‘Theme Song’ series.

Speaking about the cover, Monds-Watson said: “I just really like her. She’s cool. I listened to her at Electric Picnic, which is a festival in Ireland, but I didn’t really get into her until later on. She’s really good and kind of weird. I like music that’s entertaining and you can’t tell what the next line is gonna be. She just makes things that are really interesting, and you can hear something new each time you listen. It’s really well-textured.”