Today’s new releases: Carl Barât, Charli XCX and more

Plus new albums from Ibeyi, Krill, Maricka Hackman and Joker

Carl Barât and and Charli XCX lead this week’s new releases.

Carl Barât & The Jackals‘ debut LP, ‘Let It Reign’ is released today on Cooking Vinyl. Recorded in LA and London, it was produced by Joby J Ford of The Bronx.

Barât recently claimed there is a ghost on the record and that early versions of the track ‘We Want More’ featured a piano despite being recorded without one.

Earlier this month, The Jackals announced a one-off London gig. The band will play a show at the Scala in London on April 15, following a series of European and US dates, including shows at South By Southwest in Austin, Texas, in March.

Barât has also been working on new music with The Libertines and has announced that he wants Noel Gallagher to produce the next Libertines’ album, stating, “I’d love to work with him”.

The ‘Let It Reign’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Glory Days’
‘Victory Gin’
‘Summer In The Trenches’
‘A Storm Is Coming’
‘Beginning To See’
‘March Of The Idle’
‘We Want More’
‘War Of The Roses’
‘The Gears’
‘Let It Rain’
‘The King Is Me’ (iTunes Bonus Track)

Meanwhile, Charli XCX‘s much delayed album ‘Sucker’ is released today having originally been due out in 2014. The album was originally scheduled to be originally scheduled for release in October last year, but was subsequently pushed back until today. Speaking about the delay at the time, XCX said that the success of her single ‘Boom Clap’ led to the release date being delayed as it was necessary to “launch the album properly”.

Speaking to NME about ‘Sucker’ earlier this year, Charli XCX said she’d be using the LP to establish herself as a solo artist, after duetting with Iggy Azalea and writing for Icona Pop. “I can write a fucking hit song,” she said. “And I’m going to write some for me now. I feel like as an artist I’ve done so many collaborations now that I think I just want to take this record for myself.” The album includes the single ‘Break The Rules’ and ‘Doing It’ featuring Rita Ora.

There are also new records from Idlewild, Imagine Dragons, Jose Gonzalez and OK GO while Faris Badwan of The Horrors returns to his Cat’s Eyes guise alongside Rachel Zeffira for the soundtrack to new film The Duke Of Burgundy.

Ibeyi, Marika Hackman and Mourn also release their eagerly anticipated debuts.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

The Amazing – ‘Picture You’
Anthony Naples – ‘Body Pill’
A Place To Bury Strangers – ‘Transfixiation’
Carl Barat and The Jackals – ‘Let It Reign’
Carter Tutti – ‘Carter Tutti Plays Chris & Cosey’
Cat’s Eyes – ‘The Duke Of Burgundy’ (OST)
Charli XCX – ‘Sucker’
Ibeyi – ‘Ibeyi’
Idlewild – ‘Everything Ever Written’
Imagine Dragons – ‘Smoke + Mirrors’
Jose Gonzalez – ‘Vestiges & Claws’
Krill – ‘A Distant Fist Unclenching’
Lxury – ‘Into The Everywhere’
Marika Hackman – ‘We Slept Last Night’
Mourn – ‘Mourn’
Ne-Yo – ‘Non-Fiction’
OK Go – ‘Hungry Ghosts’
Susanne Sundfør – ‘Ten Love Songs’
Texas – ‘Texas 25’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.