Today’s new releases: Brandon Flowers, Paul Weller, Hot Chip and more

Plus new albums from Faith No More, Shamir, Torres, Twin Shadow and Zedd

Brandon Flowers, Paul Weller and Hot Chip lead this week’s new releases with their new albums.

Flowers releases his second solo album ‘The Desired Effect’, the follow up to 2010 solo debut ‘Flamingo’. The record features guest appearances from Pet Shop Boys’ Neil Tennant and Haim singer Danielle Haim, as well as The Killers’ own Ronnie Vannucci.

Speaking to NME about the album, The Killers frontman said that he wants to hear songs from the album on the radio, even if he admits that he finds commercial music in 2015 to be a “weird world”.


“I want to be on the radio,” Flowers said. “I’ve never been ashamed to say that. I can’t believe where radio has gone. It seems to be such a weird world now. Where once I seemed to fit in, now I’m seen as a little different. I used to be considered mainstream, but now I’m almost avant-garde or art rock compared to what’s on the radio.”

Read NME‘s Brandon Flowers Interview in full: On Stalking Morrissey, His New Solo Record And The Future Of The Killers

Meanwhile, Paul Weller releases new album ‘Saturns Pattern’. The former Jam frontman releases his 12th solo album following on from 2012’s ‘Sonik Kicks’. The record includes collaborations with The Strypes‘ Josh McClorey, Steve Cradock, Andy Crofts, Ben Gordelier, Steve Pilgrim and Syd Arthur.

Weller recently described ‘Saturns Pattern’ as “one of the best things I’ve done”,

‘Why Make Sense’ is Hot Chip’s first album since 2012’s ‘In Our Heads’ and features the singles ‘Huarache Lights’ and ‘Need You Now’, as well as guest appearances by De La Soul’s Posdnuos and Scritti Politti’s Green Gartside.

The album was recorded in Oxfordshire and London, and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph. The band are also to release the ‘Separate’ EP, which will include four additional tracks recorded during the album sessions.


Today also sees the release of new records from Faith No More, Holly Herndon, Rainer, Shamir, Torres and Twin Shadow while Du Blonde (formerly known as Beth Jeans Houghton) releases her new album ‘Welcome To Milk’.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Brandon Flowers – ‘The Desired Effect’
Bryce Dessner and Sō Percussion – ‘Music for Wood and Strings’
Du Blonde – ‘Welcome Back To Milk’
Faith No More – ‘Sol Invictus’
Holly Herndon – ‘Platform’
Holly Miranda – ‘Holly Miranda’
Hot Chip – ‘Why Make Sense?’
Nick Cave and Warren Ellis – ‘Far From Men Soundtrack’
Rainer – ‘Water’
Shamir – ‘Ratchet’
Tanlines – ‘Highlights’
Thee Oh Sees – ‘Mutilator Defeated’
Torres – ‘Sprinter’
Total Babes – ‘Heydays’
Twenty One Pilots – ‘Blurryface’
Twin Shadow – ‘Eclipse’
Zedd – ‘True Colors’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.