Today’s new releases: Noel Gallagher, Purity Ring and more

Plus; new albums from Helsinki, of Montreal, Ghostpoet, Kelly Clarkson and Gang Of Four

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds and Purity Ring lead this week’s new releases.

Gallagher’s ‘Chasing Yesterday’ is his second solo studio album and features the single ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’. Johnny Marr features on the track ‘The Ballad Of Mighty I’.

The full tracklisting is:

‘In The Heat Of The Moment’
‘The Girl With X-Ray Eyes’
‘Lock All The Doors’
‘The Dying Of The Light’
‘The Right Stuff’
‘While The Song Remains The Same’
‘The Mexican’
‘You Know We Can’t Go Back’
‘Ballad Of The Mighty I’

Last week it was reported that Gallagher had jumped to Ed Sheeran’s defence after previously criticising the singer in an interview with NME earlier this year, in which he remarked that he couldn’t live in a world where Ed Sheeran headlines Wembley Stadium. “He’s a good lad and I won’t have a word said against him,” Gallagher said.

Noel Gallagher was recently announced as one of the headliners for T In The Park Festival yesterday. The singer has previously criticised the state of the current British music scene because of its lack of working class musicians.

Noel Gallagher: Everything we know about his new album ‘Chasing Yesterday’

Meanwhile, Purity Ring release their second album, ‘Another Eternity’.

In January Purity Ring announced details of a UK tour to take place later this year. Another Eternity’ is the follow up to 2012’s ‘Shrines’. Band members Megan James and Corin Roddick self-recorded and produced the record in their birthplace of Edmonton, Alberta, marking the first time the duo were able to record while in the same room. Previously, they worked on their debut while living separately in Halifax and Montreal.

The Canadian duo will play a total of six venues in England in April and June as part of a world tour. Purity Ring’s UK dates begin in Brighton on April 26 with gigs in Birmingham, Glasgow, Leeds and London following shortly after. Their stay in Britain will conclude in Manchester with a gig at the Cathedral on May 2.

There are also new records from Helsinki, of Montreal, Ghostpoet, Kelly Clarkson and Gang Of Four while Clarence Clarity releases his eagerly anticipated debut and Parquet Courts release a live album recorded at Jack White’s Third Man Records.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Clarence Clarity – ‘No Now’
Colleen Green – ‘I Want To Grow Up’
Echo Lake – ‘Era’
Evans The Death – ‘Expect Delays’
Gang Of Four – ‘What Happens Next’
Ghostpoet – ‘Shedding Skin’
Helsinki – ‘A Guide For The Perplexed’
Keath Mead – ‘Sunday Dinner’
Kelly Clarkson – ‘Piece By Piece’
Moon Duo – ‘Shadow of the Sun’
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – ‘Chasing Yesterday’
of Montreal – ‘Aureate Gloom’
Parquet Courts – ‘Live at Third Man Records’
Pile – ‘You’re Better Than This’
Pinkshinyultrablast – ‘Everything Else Matters’
Purity Ring – ‘Another Eternity’
Swervedriver – ‘I Wasn’t Born To Lose You’
To Kill A King – ‘To Kill A King’
Yung – ‘Alter’ [EP]

Find definitive NME album reviews here.