Today’s new releases: The Cribs, Laura Marling, Courtney Barnett and more

Plus new albums from LoneLady, Action Bronson, Earl Sweatshirt and Mini Mansions

The Cribs, Laura Marling and Courtney Barnett lead this week’s new releases.

‘For All My Sisters’ is The Cribs’ sixth studio album and their first since leaving old label Wichita and signing to Sony RED in 2014. The LP follows on from 2012’s ‘In the Belly of the Brazen Bull’.

The band recently declared that “punk rock and indie are dead” and defended the more poppy sounds of their new album. Watch the video interview beneath.


Speaking about the upcoming record, which was influenced by the ’80s pop music the band have been listening to, guitarist Ryan Jarman said: “It’s fair to describe the record as a poppy record, we don’t see that in any way being a dirty word or anything. We had three years off after making our last record, which I feel was a pretty abrasive record. We actually had time to decide what sort of record we wanted to make. We wrote a bunch of songs – about 18 songs – and we decided we wanted to concentrate on the more poppier side of the band and make the songs as hooky as possible.”

Laura Marling, meanwhile, is back with ‘Short Movie’, her fifth studio record. She recently revealed that she’s “managed to resist EDM” on the album, adding that the record was inspired by her time in America and her feelings of being “desperately lost in translation”.

The singer-songwriter, who’s been living in LA for two years, wrote her new album in America at the beginning of 2014. Speaking to Uncut, she revealed that the record was based on the fear the country induced in her, including the track ‘Small Poke’, which was written after her experience of Hurricane Sandy in New York and “the horror of being in an enormous metropolis with no power”.

‘Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit’ is technically Courtney Barnett‘s first album. However, two of her EPs (‘I’ve Got A Friend Called Emily Ferris’ and ‘How To Carve A Carrot Into A Rose’) were put out together as ‘The Double EP: A Sea Of Split Peas’ in 2013.

The album is released today and features new single ‘Pedestrian At Best’ as well as live favourite ‘Depreston’. Speaking about the tracks on the album, Barnett commented that, “My songs follow me as a normal human with normal emotions, so there are great highs and great lows. They span everything in my life.”

Today also sees the release of new records from Action Bronson, Earl Sweatshirt, Errors, Jam City, LoneLady and Mini Mansions while James Bay releases his debut album.


This week’s new album and EP releases:

Action Bronson – ‘Mr Wonderful’
Cannibal Ox – ‘Blade Of The Ronin’
Courtney Barnett – ‘Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit’
The Cribs – ‘For All My Sisters’
David Gray – ‘Draw The Line’
Earl Sweatshirt – ‘I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside’
Errors – ‘Lease Of Life’
Flako – ‘Natureboy’
Jam City – ‘Dream A Garden’
James Bay – ‘Chaos and the Calm’
Jermain Jackman – ‘Jermain Jackman’
Joe Bonamassa – ‘Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks’
Laura Marling – ‘Short Movie’
Lightning Bolt – ‘Fantasy Empire’
Liturgy – ‘The Ark Work’
LoneLady – ‘Hinterland’
Mini Mansions – ‘The Great Pretenders’
Portico – ‘Living Fields’
Scuba – ‘Claustrophobia’
Seasick Steve – ‘Sonic Soul Surfe’
The Staves – ‘If I Was’
While She Sleeps – ‘Brainwashed’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts