Today’s new releases: Mumford & Sons, Palma Volets, Best Coast and more

Plus new albums from Django Django, Metz, Ciara and My Morning Jacket

Mumford and Sons lead this week’s new releases with their new album ‘Wilder Mind’.

‘Wilder Mind’ is the third Mumford & Sons album and follows 2009’s ‘Sigh No More’ and 2012’s ‘Babel’. It was recorded at Air Studios, London and produced by James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Haim, Florence + The Machine) and has seen the band leave behind the banjo and country influences of their earlier material. A number of the new songs were written at Aaron Dessner of The National’s studios in Brooklyn, New York.

Ben Lovett previously told NME that the band’s change in sound is a “natural departure”. The band have already shared the single ‘Believe’ and played the album in full at intimate fanclub shows in London, Berlin, Los Angeles, Toronto and New York over recent months.

Meanwhile, Palma Violets return with their second album ‘Danger In The Club’. Speaking to NME about the song about ‘English Tongue’,which features on the record, frontman Sam Fryer said that it’s “kind of about paranoia and getting old, and watching other people”.

Explaining the lyric “Don’t destruct my menopause” from ‘Gout! Gang! Go!’, which was written “in the dressing room in Amsterdam”, co-frontman Chilli Jesson jokingly claimed that it “relates to our mothers’ menopauses”, adding “I’m sure lots of people can relate to it… I wouldn’t read too much into [that]. But you know what? [It is] probably the most profound lyrics we’ve ever written!”

Today also sees the release of new records from Best Coast, Django Django, Metz, My Morning Jacket and Nosaj Thing while Ciara releases new album ‘Jackie’

This week’s new album and EP releases:

And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘Heirs’
Best Coast – ‘California Nights’
Ciara – ‘Jackie’
Django Django – ‘Born Under Saturn’
Everclear – ‘Black Is The New Black’
Holy Ghost! – ‘Work For Hire’
Hop Along – ‘Painted Shut’
Jacco Gardner – ‘Hypnophobia’
Kelela – ‘Hallucinogen’ [EP]
JME – ‘Integrity’
Lucy Spraggan – ‘We Are’
Mikal Cronin -‘ MCIII’
Mumford & Sons – ‘Wilder Mind’
My Morning Jacket – ‘The Waterfall’
Nosaj Thing – ‘Fated’
Other Lives – ‘Rituals’
Palma Violets – ‘Danger In The Club’
Todd Rundgren / Emil Nikolaisen / Hans-Peter Lindstrøm – ‘Runddans’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.