Friday’s new releases: Years & Years, Little Boots and more

Plus new albums from Four Tet, Fifth Harmony and Prides

Years & Years and Little Boots lead this week’s new releases, becoming the first artists to release albums on the new Global Release Day.

As of today (July 10) new albums and singles are released on a Friday in each country around the world. The move has been designed to curb piracy and will also see the Official Chart move to Fridays. The first Official Chart since its move from a Sunday will be revealed on BBC Radio 1 later today.

‘Communion’ is the debut album from BBC Sound of 2015 winners Years & Years and features the hit singles ‘King’ and ‘Desire’. ‘King’ went straight to Number One upon its release earlier this year with first week sales of 101,000. The trio play T In The Park this weekend and will also appear at Reading & Leeds Festival in August.


Speaking about the lyrics on the album in a recent interview, Years & Years frontman Olly Alexander said it is a shame that other gay musicians don’t address their sexuality in the same way straight artists do.


Alexander explained that all of the songs on ‘Communion’ “are about sex or relationships”, but that he only made gender specific references on a few of the tracks.

“It was important for me to get some male pronouns in some of the songs,” he said. “So I did it for ‘Real’ and ‘Memo’, and then one song on the deluxe. It is kind of sad to me that we don’t have gay pop stars singing about men using a male pronoun, but that could change, hopefully.”

The ‘Communion’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Take Shelter’
‘Eyes Shut’


Meanwhile, Little Boots releases her third album, ‘Working Girl’. The British artist – real name Victoria Hesketh – will release ‘Working Girl’ on July 10 via On Repeat. It follows on from her 2009 debut ‘Hands’, 2013’s ‘Nocturnes’ and last year’s ‘Business Pleasure’ EP.


‘Working Girl’ was produced by Ariel Rechtshaid and features collaborations with Simian Mobile Disco’s Jas Shaw, Com Truise, Grades and Jeppe Laursen. It will feature three tracks (‘Business Pleasure’, ‘Taste It’, ‘Heroine’) from her aforementioned 2014 EP.

Today also sees the release of new records from Four Tet, Fifth Harmony and Prides while Frankie & The Heartstrings release their new album ‘Decency’.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Cradle Of Filth – ‘Hammer Of The Witches’
Fifth Harmony – ‘Reflection’
Four Tet – ‘Morning/ Evening’
Frankie & The Heartstrings – ‘Decency’
Ghostface Killah & Adrian Younge – ‘Twelve Reasons To Die II’
Little Boots – ‘Working Girl’
Owl City – ‘Mobile Orchestra’
Prides – ‘The Way Back Up’
Years & Years – ‘Communion’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.