Today’s new releases: Dutch Uncles, The Pop Group and more

Plus; new albums from Big Sean, Future Brown, Dan Deacon, Spectres and Torche

The latest Dutch Uncles album and The Pop Group‘s first in 35 years lead this week’s new releases.

‘O Shudder’ is Dutch Uncles’ third album and is released via Memphis Industries.

Speaking to NME about the album, Robin Richards of the band said: “We let the songs dictate the sound a bit more this time. But it’s been quite a natural progression for us. We could’ve gone down a completely different route again with this record, but it seemed like we’d found something to build on with ‘Out Of Touch’.”

The album also features Liverpool band Stealing Sheep appear on album track ‘Be Right Back’ while frontman Duncan Wallis describes the record as having “reflections on pregnancy, terrorism, school discos, divorce, health scares, sexual dysfunction and job-seeking”.

The ‘O Shudder’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Decided Knowledge’
‘I Should Have Read’
‘In n Out’
‘Given Thing’
‘Don’t Sit Back (Frankie Said)’
‘Tidal Weight’
‘Be Right Back’

Meanwhile, The Pop Group release the Paul Epworth produced ‘Citizen Zombie’.

In a statement announcing the release of the album, frontman Mark Stewart praised producer Epworth, who has worked with Adele, Paul McCartney, Florence + The Machine and Lorde. “[Paul] gave us the freedom to create and, with his help, destiny rides again for The Pop Group,” he said.

Epworth, meanwhile, maintains that the band retain the same power they had three decades ago. He stated: “The energy [of The Pop Group] is still there, the ideas are still there, it still fizzes with a life that most young bands just don’t have.”

The Bristol group formed in 1978 and split in 1980 before getting back together again in 2010. ‘Citizen Zombie’ is their first studio album since 1980.

There are also new records from Big Sean, THEESatisfaction, Torche, Dan Deacon and Gang Of Four while Future Brown and Spectres release their eagerly anticipated debuts.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Big Sean – ‘Dark Sky Paradise’
Colleen Green – ‘I Want To Grow Up’
Cheatahs – ‘Sunne’ [EP]
Dan Deacon – ‘Gliss Riffer’
Darlia – ‘Petals’ [EP]
Dutch Uncles – ‘O Shudder’
Future Brown – ‘Future Brown’
Gang of Four – ‘What Happens Next’
Ghostface Killah & BadBadNotGood – ‘Sour Soul’
Kid Rock – ‘First Kiss’
Obey City – ‘Merlot Sounds’ [EP]
The Pop Group – ‘Citizen Zombie’
Romare – ‘Projections’
Sea Change – ‘Breakage’
Screaming Females – ‘Rose Mountain’
Spectres – ‘Dying’
THEESatisfaction – ‘EarthEE’
Torche – ‘Restarter’
Travis Bretzer – ‘Waxing Romantic’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.