Tanya Tagaq beats Drake and Arcade Fire to Canada’s Polaris Prize 2014

Inuk throat singer says 'Fuck PETA' while collecting $30,000 prize

‘Animism’ by Tanya Tagaq has won the 2014 Polaris Music Prize for best Canadian album.

The announcement was made by actor and comedian Jay Baruchel at a gala event at Toronto’s The Carlu hotel tonight (September 22). The winner was chosen by an 11-member Grand Jury made up of journalists drawn from across Canadian media.

After thanking her producers in an acceptance speech, the Inuk throat singer added a confrontational reference to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), who have campaigned against the killing of seals. She said: “On a quick side note, people should wear and eat seal as much as possible. An indigenous culture is thriving and surviving on a renewable resource: wearing and eating seal. It’s delicious, and there’s lots of them, and fuck PETA.”

Tagaq received a cash prize of $30,000 while $2,000 was awarded to each of the shortlisted runners-up – Arcade Fire, Basia Bulat, Drake, Mac DeMarco, Jessy Lanza, Owen Pallett, Shad, Timber Timbre and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN.

Tagaq had earlier been the final live performer at the gala event. The show had been opened by Owen Pallett, and also featured performances from Mac DeMarco, Basia Bulat, Jessy Lanza and Shad.

The past winners of the Polaris Music Prize are Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).