Today’s new album releases: Alt-J, Aphex Twin and more

Plus new albums from Leonard Cohen, Perfume Genius, SBTRKT and Professor Green

Alt-J and Aphex Twin lead this week’s list of new album releases (September 22).

‘Syro’ is Aphex Twin’s first album in 13 years and is the follow-up to 2001’s ‘Drukqs’. In a recent interview, the producer – real name Richard James – said that the album wouldn’t be a one-off record, asserting that the project has him “kicked into gear”.

Prior to the announcement, James teased fans with the possibility of a new album by flying a blimp over London bearing the Aphex Twin logo and the digits “2014”. He eventually announced the album on the deep web.

Meanwhile, Alt-J follow up their Mercury Prize-winning debut with second album ‘This Is All Yours’. The album features ‘Hunger Of The Pine’, ‘Every Other Freckle’ and ‘Left Hand Free’.

The full tracklist for ‘This Is All Yours’ is:

‘Arrival In Nara’
‘Every Other Freckle’
‘Left Hand Free’
‘Garden Of England’
‘Choice Kingdom’
‘Hunger Of The Pine’
‘Warm Foothills’
‘The Gospel Of John Hurt’
‘Bloodflood Pt II’
‘Leaving Nara’

Elsewhere, there are new records from Leonard Cohen, Perfume Genius, SBTRKT and Professor Green, while Lady Gaga‘s collaborative album with Tony Bennett is also released.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Allah-Las – ‘Worship The Sun’
Alt-J – ‘This Is All Yours’
Aphex Twin – ‘SYRO’
The Drums – ‘Encyclopedia’
Duologue – ‘Never Get Lost’
Erasure – ‘The Violet Flame’
Gazelle Twin – ‘Unflesh’
Goat – ‘Commune’
Jennifer Hudson – ‘JHUD’
Lenny Kravitz – ‘Strut’
King Tuff – ‘Black Moon Spell’
Leonard Cohen – ‘Popular Problems’
Perfume Genius – ‘Too Bright’
Professor Green – ‘Growing Up In Public’
Redinho – ‘Redinho’
SBTRKT – ‘Wonder Where We Land’
Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga – ‘Cheek To Cheek’

Read more NME album reviews here.