Nominees for 2013 Welsh Music Prize announced

Neon Neon and Euros Childs among 12 albums up for the prize

Neon Neon and Euros Childs are among the nominees for this year’s Welsh Music Prize.

The annual award, now in its third year, celebrates the finest Welsh music of the year as well as music made by Welsh people around the world. Created by Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens in 2011, previous winners have included Gruff Rhys and Future Of The Left. A winner will be named to coincide with Swn Festival, an event also set up by Huw Stephens, which takes place in October.

Joining Neon Neon and Euros Childs on the 2013 shortlist are acts such as Sweet Baboo and Racehorses as well as Winter Villains, Georgia Ruth and Little Arrow. Judges, including NME editor Mike Williams, will meet in October to decide on a winner.

The albums nominated for this year’s Welsh Music Prize are as follows:

Euros Childs – ‘Summer Special’
Fist Of The First Man – ‘Fist Of The First Man’
Georgia Ruth – ‘Week Of Pines’
Laurence Made Me Cry – ‘The Diary Of Me’
Little Arrow – ‘Wild Wishes’
Meta Beats – ‘Caviar Crackle’
Neon Neon – ‘Praxis Makes Perfect’
Racehorses – ‘Furniture’
Sweet Baboo – ‘Ships’
Trwbador – ‘Trwbador’
Winter Villains – ‘February’
Zervas and Pepper – ‘Lifebringer’