Beck and Jenny Lewis lead new album releases (July 28)

Plus, new albums from Shabazz Palaces, Tom Petty and Soft Walls

Beck and Shabazz Palaces are among this week’s list of new album releases (July 28).

Beck releases a recorded version of his ‘Song Reader’ project today, with Jack White and Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker among those contributing to the album.

In 2012, Beck released the album in sheet music form, leaving it up to individual musicians around the world to interpret his compositions in their own style. Joining White and Cocker on the 20-track record are a host of musicians including Laura Marling, Jack Black, US band Fun. and Norah Jones. Beck himself contributes one song, titled ‘Heaven’s Ladder’.

The ‘Song Reader’ tracklist:

Moses Sumney – ‘Title Of This Song’
Fun. – ‘Please Leave A Light On When You Go’
Tweedy – ‘The Wolf Is On The Hill’
Norah Jones – ‘Just Noise’
Lord Huron – ‘Last Night You Were A Dream’
Bob Forrest – ‘Saint Dude’
Jack White – ‘I’m Down’
Beck – ‘Heaven’s Ladder’
Juanes – ‘Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard’
Laura Marling – ‘Sorry’
Jarvis Cocker – ‘Eyes That Say “I Love You”‘
David Johansen – ‘Rough On Rats’
Jason Isbell – ‘Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings’
The Last Polka – ‘Marc Ribot’
Eleanor Friedberger – ‘Old Shanghai’
Sparks – ‘Why Did You Make Me Care?’
Swamp Dogg – ‘America, Here’s My Boy’
Jack Black – ‘We All Wear Cloaks’
Loudon Wainwright III – ‘Do We? We Do’
Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic – ‘Mutilation Rag’

Jenny Lewis also releases her new album ‘The Voyager’ today. The former Rilo Kiley singer’s third solo album was co-produced by Ryan Adams with Beck and Lewis’ partner Johnathan Rice producing three tracks.

‘The Voyager’ arrives six years after Lewis’ second solo album, 2008’s ‘Acid Tongue’. Lewis’ solo debut ‘Rabbit Fur Coat’ came out in 2006 and was billed as Jenny Lewis And The Watson Twins. A video for the single ‘Just One Of The Guys’, starring Hollywood actresses Anne Hathaway, Kristen Stewart and Brie Larson dressed in drag, can be seen below.

Speaking about her latest release, Lewis said the album was inspired by the death of her father and the end of Rilo Kiley, a period of her life she describes as “one of the most difficult times of my life.”

Elsewhere, there are new albums from Shabazz Palaces, Soft Walls, The Muffs, Tom Petty and Neon Jungle.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Beck – ‘Song Reader’
Cher Lloyd – ‘Sorry I’m Late’
Hooray For Earth – ‘Ract’
Jenny Lewis – ‘The Voyager’
The Muffs – ‘Whoop De Doo’
Neon Jungle – ‘Welcome To The Jungle’
Shabazz Palaces – ‘Lese Majesty’
Soft Walls – ‘No Time’
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – ‘Hypnotic Eye’

Read more NME album reviews here.