Today’s new album releases: Slipknot, Thurston Moore, Ben Howard, The Coral and more

LPs from Scott Walker & Sunn O))), Andy Burrows, Mark Lanegan Band and TI are also released

Slipknot and Thurston Moore lead the list of new album releases today (October 13).

‘.5: The Gray Chapter’ is Slipknot’s first LP since 2008’s ‘All Hope Is Gone’.

Earlier this month, Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor spoke about the creation of the album and how the death of founding member Paul Gray in 2010 and departure of drummer Joey Jordison in 2013 affected the recording.


“It’s been a weird time for this band. There’s a lot about Paul. There’s a lot about ourselves,” said Taylor. “It’s us basically reconvening. We can either die under the weight of life or… come back and be the Slipknot we know we can be.”

‘.5: The Gray Chapter’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘The Devil In I’
‘The One That Kills The Least’
‘Be Prepared For Hell’
‘The Negative One’
‘If Rain Is What You Want’
‘Override’ (Bonus Track)
‘The Burden’ (Bonus Track)

Meanwhile, Thurston Moore releases new solo album ‘The Best Day’, his fourth solo album following 2011’s ‘Demolished Thoughts’. It was recorded alongside a backing band comprising Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley, My Bloody Valentine bassist Debbie Googe and Chrome Hoof guitarist James Sedwards.

As previously announced, the four musicians will also play together at Moore’s November live shows as the Thurston Moore Band.

The band will play:
London, Islington Assembly Hall (November 7)
Bristol, Fleece (8)
Manchester, Gorilla (9)
Glasgow, Art School (11)
Nottingham, Bodega (12)


Elsewhere, there are new records from Andy Burrows, The Coral, Mark Lanegan Band, Ben Howard and TI, while Scott Walker and Sunn O)))’s ‘Soused’ is also released.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

…And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – IX
Andy Burrows – Fall Together Again
Baxter Dury – It’s A Pleasure
Bear’s Den – Islands
Ben Howard – I Forget Where We Were
The Coral – The Curse Of Love
Half Man Half Biscuit – Urge For Offal
Inspiral Carpets – Inspiral Carpets
Mark Lanegan Band – Phantom Radio
Neil Diamond – Melody Road
New Build – Pour It On
Nicole Scherzinger – Big Fat Lie
Primus – Primus and The Chocolate Factory
Scott Walker & Sunn O))) – Soused
Slipknot – .5: The Gray Chapter
Thurston Moore – The Best Day
T.I. – Paperwork
Tindersticks – Ypres

Find definitive NME album reviews here.