Today’s new album releases: The Courteeners, Twin Atlantic and more

Plus, new albums from DZ Deathrays, Wiz Khalifa and Imogen Heap

The Courteeners lead this week’s list of new album releases (August 18) with their latest album ‘Concrete Love’

‘Concrete Love’ is The Courteeners fourth album and follows last year’s ‘Anna’. The album features the singles ‘Summer’ and ‘How Good It Was’.

“There are stories, they come from somewhere, but there’s a little bit more in this one. They’re a little bit less literal,” Liam Fray told XFM about the album.


“There are some parts of the record that are a bit more abstract, which is something that I thought I’d give a go. I’ve always been a fan of that kind of kitchen sink style of writing.”

Meanwhile, Twin Atlantic release their second album ‘The Great Divide’ today. It follows the 2011 release of their last album ‘Free’ and was recorded in Los Angeles with Jacknife Lee (U2, REM), and at Rockfield in Wales with Gil Norton (Pixies, Foo Fighters). It was while working with Norton the band had access to the piano used by Queen when they recorded ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’.

Elsewhere, new albums from DZ Deathrays, Imogen Heap, Wiz Khalifa and Electric Wurms – a collaboration between Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd of The Flaming Lips with Nashville band Linear Downfall.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

The Courteeners – ‘Concrete Love’
DZ Deathrays – ‘Black Rat’
Electric Wurms – ‘Musik, Die Schwer Zu Twerk’
Imogen Heap – ‘Sparks’
James Yorkston – ‘The Cellardyke Recording And Wassailing Society’
JJ – ‘V’
Luke Sital Singh – ‘The Fire Inside’
The Magic Numbers – ‘Alias’
Twin Atlantic – ‘Great Divide’
Wiz Khalifa – ‘Blacc Hollywood’

Read more NME album reviews here.