Red Hot Chili Peppers and Mars Volta supergroup Antemasque announce debut album

Self-titled record will be available on July 15

Antemasque – the new band featuring Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodríguez-López and Red Hot Chili Peppers‘ Flea – will release their self-titled debut album in July.

The band have shared a number of songs in recent weeks, including ‘People Forget’, ‘4AM’ and ‘Hangin’ In The Lurch’, all of which will feature on the album when it is released on July 15. There is also a new Antemasque song streaming online – scroll down to hear ‘Drown All Your Witches’ now.

A statement issued by the band reads: “If the whole thing looked unplanned, that’s because it was. The anticipation of what the reaction from fans and critics would be was very real for us with every new song we put out.”

‘People Forget’, ‘4AM’ and ‘Hangin’ In The Lurch’ are all available to download now via Rodríguez-López’s label, Nadie Sound. The first 10,000 orders will receive ‘Drown All Your Witches’ as a free download.

As reported earlier this week (April 8) the musicians are working alongside former Mars Volta drummer Dave Elitch on the project. It marks the first time since that Bixler-Zavala and Rodríguez-López have worked together since the demise of The Mars Volta last year.