Chvrches and Biffy Clyro nominated for Scottish Album Of The Year award

Shortlist of ten is revealed ahead of ceremony at Glasgow Barrowlands on June 19

Biffy Clyro, Chvrches and Mogwai are amongst the bands to make the shortlist for the Scottish Album of the Year Award.

The award is now in its third year, and the winner of the £20,000 prize will be announced on June 19. Earlier this year a longlist was revealed, which has subsequently been cut down to the finalists you can see below. Biffy Clyro’s latest, ‘Opposites’, has made the cut, as has Chvrches’ debut ‘The Bones Of What You Believe.’

Other artists nominated include Mogwai, Edwyn Collins, Steve Mason, The Pastels, Young Fathers and Boards of Canada for the album ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’.

Singer-songwriter RM Hubbert was awarded the Scottish Album of the Year Award in 2013 for his record ‘Thirteen Lost & Found’, beating the likes of Django Django and The Twilight Sad. His latest album ‘Breaks & Bone’ also made this year’s shortlist.

A ceremony at Glasgow Barrowlands on June 19 will see the announcement of the final winner, with runners-up taking home £1000 each. Each nominee will also collect an Art Commission, to a value totalling £20,000, with work drawn from graduates of Scotland’s four principal art colleges.

The nominated albums are as follows:

Biffy Clyro – ‘Opposites’
Boards of Canada – ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’
Chvrches – ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’
Edwyn Collins – ‘Understated’
Hector Bizerk – ‘Nobody Seen Nothing’
RM Hubbert – ‘Breaks & Bone’
Steve Mason – ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’
Mogwai – ‘Les Revenants’
The Pastels – ‘Slow Summits’
Young Fathers – ‘Tape Two’

Panel chair John Williamson commented: “This year’s longlist had the widest range of music – in terms of genre – in the prize’s three year history. It is really striking that while this is a Scottish album prize, all of these are albums that neither hide nor particularly flaunt their Scottishness: their audiences, and potential audiences, are scattered throughout the world.”

For more information on the award, visit