NME’s C86 album to be reissued as 3CD boxset

Influential compilation features music by Primal Scream, The Pastels, Shop Assistants and The Wedding Present

NME‘s influential C86 compilation is to be reissued and expanded into a 3CD box set later this year.

The album, first released on a cassette free with NME in 1986, went on to inspire a generation of indie bands and features music by Primal Scream, The Pastels, Shop Assistants and The Wedding Present among many others. The reissue will be released with unreleased tracks on June 9 via Cherry Red Records.

Former NME writer Neil Taylor, who assisted in compiling the original 22 track album nearly 30 years ago, has written the liner notes for the reissue and helped with the curation of two bonus discs of material which will include songs exclusive to CD and some never released before including tracks by The Love Act, North of Cornwallis and Paul Groovy & The Pop Art Experience. See below for tracklisting for all three discs.


Disc 1

Primal Scream – ‘Velocity Girl’
The Mighty Lemon Drops – ‘Happy Head’
The Soup Dragons – ‘Pleasantly Surprised’
The Wolfhounds – ‘Feeling So Strange Again’
The Bodines – ‘Therese’
Mighty Mighty – ‘Law’
Stump – ‘Buffalo’
Bogshed – ‘Run To The Temple’
A Witness – ‘Sharpened Sticks’
The Pastels – ‘Breaking Lines’
Age Of Chance – ‘From Now On, This Will Be Your God’
Shop Assistants – ‘It’s Up to You’
Close Lobsters – ‘Firestation Towers’
Miaow – ‘Sport Most Royal’
Half Man Half Biscuit – ‘I Hate Nerys Hughes (From The Heart)’
The Servants – ‘Transparent’
Mackenzies – ‘Big Jim (There’s No Pubs In Heaven)’
Big Flame – ‘New Way’ (Quick Wash And Brush Up With Liberation Theology)’
We’ve Got A Fuzzbox And We’re Gonna Use It – ‘Console Me’
McCarthy – Celestial City’
The Shrubs – ‘Bullfighter’s Bones’
The Wedding Present – ‘This Boy Can Wait (A Bit Longer!)’

Disc 2

The June Brides – ‘Just The Same’
Yeah Yeah Noh – ‘Another Side To Mrs Quill’
The Primitives – ‘Lazy’
Jesse Garon & The Desperadoes – ‘Splashing Along’
The Band Of Holy Joy – ‘Rosemary Smith’
The McTells – ‘Virginia M.C.’
BMX Bandits – ‘E102’
One Thousand Violins – ‘Like One Thousand Violins’
The Dentists – ‘Peppermint Dreams’
The Membranes – ‘Everything’s Brilliant’
The Weather Prophets – ‘Worm In My Brain’
The Brilliant Corners – ‘Meet Me On Tuesdays’
Talulah Gosh – ‘I Told You So’
Pigbros – ‘Hedonist Hat’
14 Iced Bears – ‘Inside’
St. Christopher – ‘Go Ahead, Cry’
The Groove Farm – ‘Captain Fantastic’ (Demo)
Kilgore Trout – ‘The Peacock Nose’
The Jesus And Mary Chain – ‘Inside Me’
The Hit Parade – ‘You Didn’t Love Me Then’
That Petrol Emotion – ‘Mine’
The Turncoats – ‘One Breath’
A Riot Of Colour – ‘Skink’ (Flexi Version)
Paul Groovy & The Pop Art Experience – ‘Tune In, Turn On, Trip Out’
The Railway Children – ‘Darkness And Colour’

Disc 3

The Chesterf!elds – ‘Sweet Revenge’
The Jamsine Minks – ‘World’s No Place’
Stitched Back Foot Airman – ‘Why’
Razorcuts – ‘Sad Kaleidoscope’
Treebound Story – ‘I Remember’
The Nightingales – ‘Part Time Moral England’
Episode Four – ‘Strike Up Matches’
The Avons – ‘Everything’s Going Right’
Meat Whiplash – ‘Here It Comes’
King Of The Slums – ‘Spider Psychiatry’
Happy Mondays – ‘Freaky Dancin”
Biff Bang Pow! – ‘Love’s Going Out Of Fashion’
Blue Aeroplanes – ‘Tolerance’ (Remix)
Lawrence & The Comfortable Society – ‘Heartache’
Laugh – ‘Take Your Time, Yeah’ (Flexi Version)
North Of Cornwallis – ‘Billy Liar’
Mesmerized _ ‘Mesmerized’
Benny Profane – ‘Hang Fire’
Go! Service – ‘Real Life’
Janitors – ‘Good To Be The King’
The Claim – ‘Gullible’s Travels’
The Auctioneers – ‘Scoop’
Noseflutes – ‘Perfect Cockney Hard-On’
The Love Act – ‘Hep Clothes’
The Enormous Room – ‘I Don’t Need You’

You May Like