NME Music Photography Awards With Nikon winners honoured at special exhibition

The exhibition also features work of this year's Outstanding Contribution To Music Photography winner Chalkie Davies

NME celebrated the winners of this year’s Music Photography Awards with Nikon with a special exhibition this week.

Over 100 invited guests attended the event on October 22 which crowned the winners of the competition and displayed the award-winning work at London’s Blue Fin Building.

The exhibition also featured work of this year’s Outstanding Contribution to Music Photography winner, Chalkie Davies and images by the Professional Photographer of the Year winner Matias Altback. Amateur and professional photographers entered their shots across five different categories, including Festival, Professional, Under 18, Portrait and Live, for the chance to win cameras from Nikon.

Gallery: NME Music Photography Awards with Nikon: The exhibition

This year’s competition was judged by NME editor Mike Williams, picture editor Zoe Capstick and art director Mark Neil.

For the first time in the competition’s history, the best of the entries were celebrated in a specially curated digital issue of NME, available worldwide to download for free on the Apple App Store.

Mike Williams, NME editor, says: “The standard of entries in this competition continues to get better every year, and this year’s winners have really raised the bar. Some of the work was truly mind-blowing, doing what great music photography always should; capturing a moment and making it feel important, vital and visceral. The competition creates a fantastic opportunity for photographers to get their work in front of the industry and has been the launch pad for previous winners’ careers, with some going on to become official NME photographers. I am thrilled we have been able to work with Nikon for another year and continue to celebrate this art.”

Picture Editor Zoe Capstick added: “The NME Music Photography Awards is the highlight of my year. It was a fantastic evening and an honour to celebrate such talented photographers.”