Julien Temple receives Icon Award at UK Music Video Awards

Videos for Foals, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Phoenix, London Grammar also win at the London ceremony

Music videos for tracks by Yeah Yeah Yeahs, London Grammar, Foals, Rudimental and more scored gongs at the sixth annual UK Music Video Awards.

The awards ceremony took place at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London’s Southbank Centre earlier this evening (October 28) and awards were given to British and international filmmakers and directors. Julien Temple received the Icon Award, which was given to him by Ray Davies of The Kinks, a band for who he directed a number of videos. Temple has also worked on videos for Neil Young, Blur, Duran Duran, Paul McCartney and Scissor Sisters as well as directing music documentaries The Filth & The Fury, The Future Is Unwritten and Oil City Confidential.

The Video of the Year award was given to Kahil Joseph for Flying Lotus’ ‘Until The Quiet Comes’, which you can see above. Best Alternative Video was named as London Grammar’s ‘Wasting My Young Years’, directed by BISON, whilst Best Dance Video was ‘Not Giving In’ by Rudimental and directed by Josh Cole. Best Pop Video was the
Alex Courtès directed promo for Willy Moon’s ‘Yeah Yeah’ and Best Rock/Indie Video was Darwin Deez’s ‘Free (The Editorial Me)’ by Ninan Doff. Elsewhere, the Best Live Coverage gong was scooped by Dick Carruthers for Led Zeppelin’s ‘Celebration Day’.

The French Megaforce team was named Best Director as well as scoring the Best Rock/Indie Video – International for Yeah Yeah Yeah’s ‘Sacrilege’. Best Colour Grade in a Video was given to Aubrey Woodiwiss for Foals’ ‘Late Night’. The CANADA directed clip for Phoenix’s ‘Trying To Be Cool’ won Best Art Direction & Design in a Video.

Of the event, UK Music Video Awards editorial director, David Knight, commented: “In a year where some pop videos have courted notoriety, this year’s UK Music Video Awards has highlighted the true range of creativity that can come out of the process of adding visuals to music. But it was also wonderful to bestow our Icon Award on Julien Temple, a director who was courting controversy with his work over 30 years ago with the Sex Pistols, and is still adding to the language of music and film today.”

For a full list of winners, see below:

Best Pop Video – UK in association with 4Music
Alex Courtès for Willy Moon – ‘Yeah Yeah’

Best Dance Video – UK in association with RiRi Productions
Josh Cole for Rudimental ft John Newman & Alex Clare – ‘Not Giving In’

Best Rock/Indie Video – UK in association with Decode UK
Ninan Doff for Darwin Deez – ‘Free (The Editorial Me)’

Best Alternative Video – UK
BISON for London Grammar – ‘Wasting My Young Years’

Best Urban Video – UK
Ian & Cooper for Joel Compass – ‘Back To Me’

Best Pop Video – International
Melina Matsoukas for Solange Knowles – ‘Losing You’

Best Dance Video – International
Fleur & Manu for Gesaffelstein – ‘Pursuit’

Best Rock/Indie Video – International
Megaforce for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Sacrilege’

Best Alternative Video – International
Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – ‘Until The Quiet Comes’

Best Urban Video – International
Andreas Nilsson for 2 Chainz ft Kanye West – ‘Birthday Song’

Best Pop Video – Budget
Zaiba Jabbar for Tiny Dancer – ‘Who Am I’

Best Dance Video – Budget
Ola Martin Fjeld for Pixel – ‘Call Me’

Best Rock/Indie Video – Budget
Stevie Russell for Kodaline – ‘All I Want’

Best Alternative Video – Budget
Fleur & Manu for Connan Mockasin – ‘Faking Jazz Together’

Best Urban Video – Budget
LAMAR+NIK for Lushlife – ‘Magnolia’

Best Art Direction & Design in a Video
CANADA for Phoenix – ‘Trying To Be Cool’

Best Styling in a Video
Angela Esteban Librero for DJ Fresh vs Diplo ft Dominque Young Unique – ‘Earthquake’

Best Choreography in a Video
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Sigur Ros – ‘Valtari’

Best Cinematography in a Video in association with Panalux
Steve Annis for Jon Hopkins – ‘Open Eye Signal’

Best Colour Grade in a Video
Aubrey Woodiwiss for Foals – ‘Late Night’

Best Animation in a Video
Tom Jobbins for Hiatus ft Shura – ‘We Can Be Ghosts Now’

Best Editing in a Video
Sophie Fourdrinoy for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Sacrilege’

Best Visual Effects in a Video in association with Quantum SFX
Mathematic Paris for Gesaffelstein – ‘Pursuit’

Best Live Coverage
Dick Carruthers for Led Zeppelin – ‘Celebration Day’

Best Music Ad – TV or Online
Powster for Laura Mvula – ‘Sing To The Moon’

Best Interactive Video
Moniker for Do Not Touch – Kilo by Light Light

Best Director in association with Promo News

Best New Director in association with Locomotion
Andrew Thomas Huang

Best Producer in association with Rushes
Liz Kessler

Best Commissioner
Dan Curwin

The Icon Award
Julien Temple

VEVO Best New Video Artist
Naughty Boy ft Sam Smith for ‘La La La’

Video of the Year
Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – ‘Until The Quiet Comes’