Adele, Damon Albarn, Happy Mondays and Portishead win at Ivor Novello Awards

James Bay and Jamie Lawson beat the likes of Wolf Alice and Skepta

The winners for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards have been announced, with Adele taking home the top prize for Songwriter of the Year.

The Ivors celebrate excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing, judged by the UK songwriting and composing community. This year’s ceremony took place today (May 19) at the Grosvenor House, Park Lane in London.

Among the winners were James Bay, who won the PRS Prize for Music Most Performed Work, and Jamie Lawson, who won Best Song Musically and Lyrically for ‘Wasn’t Expecting That’, beating Wolf Alice and Ed Sheeran to the award.

Villagers beat Jamie xx and Gaz Coombes to pick up the Best Album award, while Snakehips beat Roots Manuva and Skepta in the Best Contemporary Song category.

The Happy Mondays won The Ivors Inspiration Award, Portishead picked up PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music, Simple Minds won Outstanding Song Collection and Damon Albarn took home the Lifetime Achievement award.

See the full list of winners below.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
James Bay – ‘Hold Back The River’

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
Jamie Lawson – ‘Wasn’t Expecting That’

The Ivors Inspiration Award
The Happy Mondays

Album Award
Villagers – ‘Darling Arithmetic’

Songwriter of the Year

Best Original Film Score
Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury for Ex Machina

Best Contemporary Song
Snakehips – ‘All My Friends’

Outstanding Song Collection
Simple Minds

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Lifetime Achievement
Damon Albarn

PRS for Music Special International Award
Bryan Adams

Best Television Soundtrack
London Spy

The Ivors Classical Music Award
Oliver Knussen

International Achievement
Wayne Hector