RM Hubbert wins Scottish Album of the Year

The singer-songwriter beat the likes of Django Django and The Twilight Sad

Singer-songwriter RM Hubbert has been awarded the Scottish Album of the Year prize for his record ‘Thirteen Lost & Found’, beating the likes of Django Django and The Twilight Sad.

The accolade was presented at a ceremony at Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom last night, with Hubbert receiving a £20,000 prize along with an exclusive piece of artwork. The artwork was created by Emma Reid, of Glasgow School of Art, and Gregor Morrison, of Edinburgh College of Art, the joint winners of the Scottish Album Of The Year’s sister prize, The SAY Arts commission.

The other shortlisted albums were ‘Tree Bursts In Snow’ by Admiral Fallow, ‘self-titled albums by Django Django and Human Don’t Be Angry, ‘Traces’ by Karine Polwart, ‘Race The Loser’ by Lau, ‘Something For The Weakened’ by Meursault, ‘Mid Air’ by Paul Buchanan, ‘Reject’ by Stanley Odd and ‘No One Can Ever Know’ by The Twilight Sad. Each shortlisted album received £1,000 and a piece of artwork.

Hubbert said in a statement: “I am shocked and delighted at winning. I never expected it. It is testament to all my collaborators that we won.” John Williamson, chair of the judging panel, added: “In the view of the judges, RM Hubbert’s album was the one that encapsulated and engaged the most.”

The judging panel included: Douglas Anderson (Author/Broadcaster/Writer), Christopher Brookmyre (Author), Stewart Cruickshank (Radio Producer), Tom Doyle (Author/Journalist), Douglas Gordon (Visual Artist), Kate Molleson (Journalist), Joe Muggs (Journalist/A&R), Jude Rogers (Journalist), Tjinder Singh (Cornershop; Ample Play Records), Rebecca Vasmant (DJ/Producer) and Sue Wilson (Journalist).