Today’s new album releases: Slash, The Script and more

Plus new albums from Jaws, The Juan MacLean, Vessel and Lia Ices

Slash and The Script lead this week’s list of new album releases (September 15).

Slash releases his third solo album, ‘World On Fire’. The album is the follow up to 2012’s ‘Apocalyptic Love’.

Speaking about the record earlier this year, Slash’s bassist Todd Kerns said: “I have to admit that, conceptually, I felt that ‘Apocalyptic Love’ would be a tough act to follow, but I can say with all the confidence in the world that we are more than armed and ready. Not only do I feel that the material surpasses ‘Apocalyptic Love’, I think we are 10 times the band we were when that album was recorded.”

Meanwhile, The Script return with their new album ‘No Sound Without Silence’. Frontman Danny O’Donoghue previosuly revealed that the album was partly inspired by hit comedy Mrs Brown’s Boys.

The Irish band wrote the song ‘Hail, Rail Or Sunshine’ for Mrs Brown’s Boys: D’Movie, the big-screen version of the BBC show, and O’Donoghue has said that the sense of local pride instilled in the band by its creator, Brendan O’Carroll, led to a greater Irish influence on the record.

“We ended up thinking, ‘What is it about Ireland?’ That gave us the idea of ‘Hail, Rain And Sunshine’ – that’s their motto,” said O’Donoghue. “It was the first time we embraced the Irish sound. We went full-frontal fiddles and uilleann [pipes] in it. That started to bleed into our other music – there’s so much Irish influence in the melodies.”

The ‘No Sound Without Silence’ tracklist is:

‘No Good In Goodbye’
‘Man On A Wire’
‘It’s Not Right For You’
‘The Energy Never Dies’
‘Army Of Angels’
‘Never Seen Anything “Quite Like You”‘
‘Paint The Town Green’
‘Without Those Songs’
‘Hail, Rain Or Sunshine’

Elsewhere, there are new records from The Juan MacLean, Lia Ices, Vessel and My Brightest Diamond, while Catfish and The Bottlemen, Jaws and Gnarwolves all release their debut albums.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Catfish And The Bottlemen – ‘The Balcony’
Chris Brown – ‘X’
Gnarwolves – ‘Gnarwolves’
JAWS – ‘Be Slowly’
The Juan MacLean – ‘In A Dream’
Lia Ices – ‘Ices’
The Madden Brothers – ‘Greetings From California’
My Brightest Diamond – ‘This Is My Hand’
The Script – ‘No Sound Without Silence’
Slash – ‘World On Fire’
Train – ‘Bulletproof Picasso’
Vance Joy – ‘Dream Your Life Away’
Vessel – ‘Punish, Honey’

Read more NME album reviews here.