Danny Brown to re-release ‘Hot Soup’ mixtape – listen

Detroit rapper will reissue 2008 mixtape with five bonus tracks next month (April)

Danny Brown has confirmed plans to reissue his ‘Hot Soup’ mixtape on CD and vinyl later this year. Scroll down to hear ‘Contra’, a track from the mixtape, now.

‘Hot Soup’ was first put out by the Detroit rapper in 2008 and will be given a wider release on April 15 with five additional songs added to the album. The vinyl edition also will also include two additional bonus tracks, ‘Radiohead’ and ‘Contra’.

The ‘Hot Soup’ mixtape was released before Brown’s 2011 breakout album ‘XXX’ and its 2013 follow up ‘Old.’ Scroll down to see a tracklist for the re-release.

Earlier this week it was reported that Danny Brown had criticised this year’s SXSW festival, which took place in Austin, Texas. Brown was quoted as saying that there was too much focus on established artists and not as much on newer acts, which SXSW is famous for helping get established.

Hot Soup Tracklist:
‘Level One’
‘What Up Doe’
‘Ten G’s a Week’
‘Sittin’ So High’
‘Swagger to the Max’
‘Succeed’ (ft. Kineses)
‘She Love It’ (feat. Nick Speed & Lola Damone)
‘Squeeze Precisely’ (feat. Rapper Big Pooh & O-Dash)
‘Rese-Vor Dogs’ (feat. Mike Luke & Chip$)
‘Gun in Yo Mouf’ (feat. Chip$ & Mary Won)
‘Let’s Go’
‘Two Steps Back’
‘Work Song’
‘Streets of Detroit’
‘Watch ‘Em’
‘Hot Soup Commercial’
‘Hot Soup Interview’ (feat. K-Fresh)

Bonus 45:
Side A: ‘Contra’
Side B: ‘Radiohead’