Kasabian and Jack White lead new album releases (June 9)

Plus new albums from First Aid Kit, Tom Vek and Glass Animals

Jack White and Kasabian lead this week’s list of new album releases (June 9).

Kasabian’s fifth album is named after its running time, which is a total of 48 minutes and 13 seconds. The record includes the single ‘Eez-eh’ and arrives two weeks before the band headline this year’s Glastonbury Festival alongside Arcade Fire and Metallica.

Guitarist Sergio Pizzorno, who wrote and produced the album, said in a statement: “I felt that we had the confidence to be more direct, more honest with this album. I started to strip away layers rather than to just keep adding.”


Frontman Tom Meighan added: “Less is more, you know? It’s direct. It is what it is. Just listen to it. We’ve had the confidence to lay ourselves bare. Serge has stripped it right back. It’s unbelievable.”

Meanwhile, Jack White’s second solo album is the follow up to his 2012 debut ‘Blunderbuss’ and is released by White’s own label Third Man and XL Recordings. A special vinyl ‘Ultra’ version of ‘Lazaretto’ accompanies the standard release. The 180 gram vinyl will feature two exclusive hidden tracks, which will be situated under the labels on the record, with one playing at 78 rpm and one at 45 rpm, making the release a three-speed album. The mix of the album will also be different from the digital and CD release and have a different running order. In the dead wax of Side A is a hand-etched hologram of an angel.

Elsewhere, there are new albums from First Aid Kit, Alexis Taylor, Tom Vek, Bob Mould, Dolly Parton and Lust For Youth, while Glass Animals release their debut album ‘ZABA.’

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Alexis Taylor – ‘Await Barbarians’
Bob Mould – ‘Beauty & Ruin’
Chrissie Hynde – ‘Stockholm’
clipping. – ‘CLPPNG’
Dolly Parton – ‘Blue Smoke / The Best Of’
First Aid Kit – ‘Stay Gold’
The Fresh & Onlys – ‘House of Spirits’
Glass Animals – ‘ZABA’
Imogen Heap – ‘Sparks’
Jack White – ‘Lazaretto’
Kasabian – ’48:13′
Lust For Youth – ‘International’
Passenger – ‘Whispers’
The Proper Ornaments – ‘Wooden Head’
Tom Vek – ‘Luck’
Tomas Barfod – ‘Love Me’
WIFE – ‘What’s Between’