Arctic Monkeys, Adele, The Prodigy, Enter Shikari lead Independent Music Awards nominations

The Cribs, Frank Turner, Alt-J, Alabama Shakes also up for gongs

Arctic Monkeys, Adele, The Prodigy, Frank Turner and Enter Shikari all lead the nominations for this years’ AIM Independent Music Awards.

The Cribs, Django Django, Grimes and Alabama Shakes are also up for gongs at the awards, which celebrate British independent music.

Enter Shikari lead the nominations with three nods for Best Live Act, Hardest Working Band and Independent Album of the Year, for their third album, ‘A Flash Flood Of Colour’. Alabama Shakes follow in second place with two nominations for Independent Breakthrough Of The Year and Independent Album Of The Year for their debut LP ‘Boys & Girls’. Frank Turner also picks up two nominations for Best Live Act and Hardest Working Act.


Arctic Monkeys and Adele will go head to head with Madness for the Most Played Independent Act award at the ceremony, which will take place on October 29 in London and will be hosted by radio 1’s Huw Stephens and BBC 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq.

The AIM Independent Music Awards nominees include:

Best Live Act
The Cribs
Dub Pistols
Enter Shikari
The Prodigy
Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year
Alabama Shakes
Django Django

Hardest Working Band Or Artist
Cancer Bats
Enter Shikari
Frank Turner
Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album
Admiral Fallow – ‘Tree Bursts In Snow’
First Aid Kit – ‘The Lion’s Roar
Speech Debelle – Freedom Of Speech
The Invisible – Rispah
The Skints – Part & Parcel


Independent Album Of The Year
Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls
Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour
Liars – Wixiw
Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense
Rustie – Glass Swords

Best Small Label
Alcopop! Records
Black Butter Records
Pink Mist
Xtra Mile Recordings

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act
Arctic Monkeys
Caro Emerald

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year
Amon Tobin – Amon Tobin
Madness – A Guided Tour Of Madness
Can – The Lost Tapes
The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres
Various Artists – The Original Sound Of Cumbia

Independent Label Of The Year
Bella Union
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune

Best Independent Festival
In The Woods Festival
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival
Bearded Theory