Skrillex and Black Lips lead new album releases (March 17)

Sky Ferreira, Kylie Minogue, Perfect Pussy and Foster The People also release new albums

Skrillex and Black Lips lead the list of new album releases today (March 17).

Skrillex’s debut album comes long after the DJ has built a worldwide following. It features guests including Ragga Twins, Chance The Rapper, Diplo, Passion Pit vocalist Michael Angelakos plus OWSLA stars Kill The Noise, Alvin Risk and Milo & Otis.

Speaking to NME about ‘Recess’, the producer and DJ said that the true measure of its success will be apparent when he performs live, as he feels record sales are “trivial”.

Meanwhile, ‘Underneath The Rainbow’ is Black Lips’ follow-up to 2011’s ‘Arabia Mountain’ LP. It consists of 12 tracks and features production work by Patrick Carney, as well as help from Dap Kings music director Tommy Brenneck. Ed Rawls also co-produced a number of tracks and the LP was mixed by Jimmy Douglass.

Black Lips recently told NME that making ‘Underneath The Rainbow’ was like “training to be a Navy Seal”. Bassist Jared Swilley made the comments, saying: “In the music world, this band is like [US counter-terrorist unit] Seal Team Six. When the shit hits the fan, we’re the first response team.” Swilley also said of the album: “It sounds like The Fonz fucking a monkey while riding a motorcycle into the sun.”

Elsewhere, there are new albums from Sky Ferreira, The War On Drugs, Foster the People, Kylie Minogue, Shit Robot and Freddie Gibbs’ collaborative album with Madlib, while Perfect Pussy release their debut album ‘Say Yes To Love’ and Kanye West producer Evian Christ releases the ‘Waterfall’ EP.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Black Lips – ‘Underneath the Rainbow’
The Coathangers – ‘Suck My Shirt’
Evian Christ – ‘Waterfall’ EP
Foster The People – ‘Supermodel’
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – ‘Piñata’
Kylie Minogue – ‘Kiss Me Once’
Leon Vynehall – ‘Music For The Uninvited’
Lyla Foy – ‘Mirrors in the Sky’
My Sad Captains – ‘Best of Times’
Perfect Pussy – ‘Say Yes To Love’
Shit Robot – ‘We Got a Love’
Sisyphus – ‘Sisyphus’
Soak – ‘Blud’ EP
Skrillex – ‘Recess’
Sky Ferreira – ‘Night Time, My Time’
The War on Drugs – ‘Lost In The Dream’
YG – ‘My Krazy Life’