Mac DeMarco, Metric, Metz longlisted for Canada’s Polaris Music Prize

Godspeed You! Black Emperor, The Besnard Lakes, Suuns and Tegan and Sara are also nominated

Mac DeMarco, Metric and Metz are amongst the artists longlisted for this year’s Polaris Music Prize, the Canadian equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor, The Besnard Lakes, Suuns, Tegan and Sara and Purity Ring have also made the list. Scroll down to see all of the artists nominated for the award. The shortlist will be revealed on July 16 and the award will be given out in a gala ceremony on September 23.

Feist won last year’s Polaris Music Prize, collecting a $30,000 (£19,000) cheque at a ceremony in September 2012 in Toronto from Jeremy Gara and Tim Kingsbury of Arcade Fire, who won the gong in 2011.

The full list of longlisted artists for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize is:

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir
ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak
The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO
Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage
Mac DeMarco – 2
Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk
Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II
Jim Guthrie – Takes Time
Hayden – Us Alone
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
KEN mode – Entrench
Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues
Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox
Pierre Lapointe – Punkt
Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner
Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis
Corb Lund – Cabin Fever
The Luyas – Animator
Majical Cloudz – Impersonator
Metric – Synthetica
Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me
AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets
Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse
Purity Ring – Shrines
Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead
Rhye – Woman
Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Suuns – Images du futur
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine